To the pain!

FB_IMG_1498349756405

One of my friends put this on my facebook wall and it is so appropriate that I thought I’d share.  (Double points to Gryffindor if you get the reference in my post title 🙂 )

Last week started my new exercise routine. I’m attempting to do something everyday, even if it’s just walking. Tuesday was the first group session with our trainer. See my previous post to see how well that went.

Wednesday I did yoga for the first time on the Wii. From a previous let’s-get-healthy kick a few years ago I had the Wii version of The Biggest Loser. It has many different workout routines and the digital versions of the trainers lead you through them. I chose Bob 🙂 It also creates a digital version of you, based on your weight and details you put in, that works out alongside the trainer. After loosing 55lbs my digital self is still overly fluffy. I wonder what weight I have to be for her to change too.  Since I’ve never done yoga before I didn’t really know what to expect, though I did it would be easier than it was. In my mind I thought it was all meditation and concentrating on your breathing. In reality it’s holding an awkward position for a whole minute while sweat drips into your eyes and digital Bob tells you not to forget to breath.

Thursday was my second group session, and Dad’s first. Wishy washy shrill trainer lady was a bit better this time. We worked out first and did the kumbaya circle last, during which she only commented for maybe a minute on everyone’s challenges/successes. Dad didn’t want to share. He felt as silly as I did. I come by my social awkwardness naturally. I was really proud with how well he did throughout the hour, especially since he started the hour with his hip and knee hurting.

Friday I opted to not workout. I was on call at work and ended up staying over. By time I got home I was so hungry that food was first and foremost on my mind. Post-op hunger is weird. It’s not what you really think of as hunger, but more of an emptiness along with a feeling that your blood sugar is tanking.

Saturday’s goal was an 8am zumba class. I did not make it. Anyone who knows me knows I love my sleep. 2 guesses what I did instead, and the first one doesn’t count. Dad went to the gym by himself though, to make up for not having the Tuesday session! So proud 🙂 I still needed to do something though. So in the afternoon one of my daughters and I went to the Loveland Bike Trail. We rented a bike and kid’s trailer. I lasted about 30 minutes before deciding we needed to turn back before I wouldn’t be able to get us back anymore. There and back equaled about 60 minutes biking with an extra 100lbs ish being dragged behind me. Not too shabby for not having biked in over 6-7 years. Phoebe and I then had a mommy-daughter date at a nearby restaurant, walked to a local nature reserve to do some geocaching, hit up a cute little ice cream shop on the way back to the car, and then drove home. She lasted all of 5 minutes before crashing 🙂

Sunday consisted of my first ever kickboxing class. It should be called buttkicking class because that’s what it did. It kicked my butt, hard. I couldn’t do it all and definitely couldn’t do it at the pace that others were able, but I didn’t stop and I didn’t quit. Not sure if I’ll go back. We’ll see. Here’s how lovely I looked afterward:

This was probably 15 minutes after the class ended and I was still red-faced! When I got home I vegged/recuperated for a little bit while we ate lunch. Then we all spent the next 3 hours outside. The girls doing sidewalk chalk, running in the sprinkler, and “helping” me. I, however, did not have as much fun as them. I spent the 3 hours doing major labor intensive yard work. Cutting down trees, vines, weeding, trimming bushes and hedges. Chainsaws are fun 🙂 I’m definitely a girl who likes her power tools. The husband even got in on the outside action and cleaned out his car.

After all this I woke up this morning and practically needed a walker! I hurt so much! The plan for today was a dance class similar to zumba after work. If my muscles don’t let up some before then I might flake and just rest for the day. We’ll see…

Leave a Reply

