12 week follow-up

I experienced dumping for the first time this last Monday, I think. I currently have an infected finger (see boo-boo below) and am on 2 antibiotics for it. Monday morning I took both on an empty stomach and then drank my protein shake on the way to work. About half way through my shake I started to feel like poo. Fast forward to 0700 and I’m in the bathroom throwing up. Fun times. It wasn’t that much, but still… The whole rest of the day I just felt like poop and a half. No energy, headache, no appetite, throbbing finger. It was an awesome day. I can’t for sure blame it on the shake and say I dumped or that it came from the pills on an empty stomach. Needless to say I’ve made sure to drink my morning shake first before the pills since then and luckily I haven’t had a repeat. The below pic is actually after it improved some, believe it or not.

IMG_20170724_144340764IMG_20170724_144354568

 

 

 

 

Dad and I have been working out together 3 days a week. Tuesdays and Thursdays at the group class and hiking either on Saturday or Sunday. In addition to that I’ve been going to a cardio dance class on Mondays. I’ve started to attempt to run to prep for the 5K. So far I can run for a minute straight. Out of 30 minutes I’ll run for 3 minutes with walking between the minute spurts. Not too shabby for a couch potato. I’ve had to double up in the bra department so I don’t knock myself out though. It works out pretty well. Underwire to keep the girls up and a sports bra to keep them in.

IMG_20170725_200024418_HDRIMG_20170725_195819280

Today was my follow up appt for 12 weeks post op. Below is the comparison pics from today vs my last preop appt. In addition from going from a size 22 to 16, my bra has gone from 44H to 40DD, though I could probably do a 38DD.

Collage 2017-07-26 10_20_05

Dad’s appt was monday. At both our appts they measured us to compare to our preop measurements. Here they are (in inches):

Dad’s- Total lost: 24 inches. 33 lbs since surgery. 53 lbs total

Mine- Total lost: 39.25 inches. 40 lbs since surgery. 68 lbs total.

IMG_20170726_135418

One slightly weird thing that’s developed for me lately is that I’m wearing more skirts and dresses, as evidence in the above photos. As I loose inches off my thighs I don’t chub-rub as bad and thus am more likely to wear something super girly instead of jeans and a baggy t-shirt. I’m also not having to wear leggings or bicycle shorts underneath like I always have. It feels freeing and very exposing at the same time.

Leave a Reply

