“Only”

I’ve decided that I hate the word only. So many people on bariatric forums state that they “only” lost such and such pounds over whatever timeframe. The fact that they feel the number is less than ideal, that it’s an “only”, gets them discouraged and often times depressed. I’ve fallen prey to this habit myself, I’ll admit.

We’ve lost sight of why we started on our respective journeys of weight loss. Yes, the goal is to lose weight, but the end goal is to be healthier. The way, more often than not, to achieve that just happens to be to lose weight initially. So when I say that I’ve “only” lost 5 pounds last month, I’m losing sight of what I’ve accomplished over the last month, the positives. For example, yesterday Dad and I walked/hiked 4.1 miles around our new favorite park, where as the week before we did 3.7 miles. Last week Dad was able to do 2 tall stair steps along the trail. This week he did 5. We’re improving, even if we’re not losing. The word “only” implies that our improvements are outweighed by our weight. I’m not a fan of that even though I fall victim to it myself.

Some updates since my last post:

Dad and I are both in new BMI categories. We’re both just Moderately Obese now!

As of July 30th Dad was down 56 lbs total and I was down 71 lbs total, so far that is…

Collage 2017-08-07 23_40_30

I also chopped my hair off. I’m thinking the next stage will be some fun colored hair dye. Not entirely sure what color yet though. I’m thinking maybe dark blue, purple, and pink. Once upon a time I had bright blond hair with a rainbow on the back of my head. I miss my fun, happy colors. Also, note the appearance of my clavicles in the above after-pic!

img_20170730_160816336.jpg

A couple of weeks ago I went canoeing with a friend and a bunch of my coworkers. It was very fun. We canoed, we drank, and we/I cliff dived. As you can see in the above pic I also got incredibly sunburned. This was even after applying sunscreen twice. I shudder to think if I hadn’t applied any at all. The next day when we went to visit my mother I had to hunt for something strapless so I wouldn’t scream in pain from the straps. A NSV that happened was that I wore my first 2 piece bathing suit ever. Granted it was a tankini, but that’s still a proper 2 piece suit in my book.

Our new favorite place to walk is around the trails at Sharon Woods. We combine the parcourse fitness trail, the gorge hiking trail, and the paved loop around the lake. If we do all of the trails they combine to 4.1 miles. Along the fitness trail are scattered activities to do, so it helps work out the whole body too. As you can probably tell in the above pic I think the 4.1 miles was a bit much for Dad this past weekend. It tuckered him right out. He kept “resting his eyes”.

The past 2 weeks I’ve been on Grand Jury duty. It was really interesting and very educational. All potential felony cases are routed through a grand jury to see if there’s enough evidence to indict and actually send the case to court. We heard 20-25 cases a day on average. 90% of them sadly were drug possession/trafficking. Bonus though was that my day didn’t start till 9 so I was able to sleep in a bit. This morning was a bit rough getting up again for my 7am shift.

This past Saturday I had a yard sale where the majority of what was sold was my fluffier plus sized clothes that I’ve shrunk out of. It was a bit like letting go of a beloved security blanket. In the past I’ve always kept my fluffy clothes just in case I gained the weight back. This time I’m not giving myself the option. I only kept 1 pair of jeans, a sweater, and a bra to do comparisons later on when I’m an “after”. While looking through my clothes to  separate out what didn’t fit anymore I found a big bin of clothes from high school/freshman year of college. Some of them were too big! I also fit into my homecoming dress from junior year high school again! Eventually I’ll take a pic and post it. I loved/love that dress.

One thought on ““Only”

  1. I’m so proud of and happy for you and your dad. You can really see the progress you’ve made. Clavicles! And you’re damn straight that a tankini is a proper two-piece. Great job, you two!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

